PDA

Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Is this Printer Legit?


Ovaltine
06-29-2006, 02:14 AM
Does anyone know anything about this printer? www.printmediany.com (http://www.printmediany.com)
I'm trying to determine if the email they sent me is legit. It seems too basic a site for a high end New York printer.

Glovebox
06-29-2006, 10:53 AM
Looks pretty dodgy to me. You could always phone them up, or use one of the thousands of other low-price/fast-turnaround printers with more information on their website.

PrintDriver
06-29-2006, 10:53 AM
My first guess is this is a Broker which could be good or bad depending on HIS relationship to his printers. Not too many print companies reside on a 7th floor. Some do, but not many.

SurfPark
06-29-2006, 03:55 PM
Its spam dude! Did you get this email?

From: dp@printmediany.com
Subject: Design Work

I noticed your resume online and I am very impressed with your design
portfolio. My name is David and I am the Sales Manager at Print Media, a
high end, national printing company. We are one of the best printers in the
U.S. for quality, service, and price.

I would like to offer you the opportunity to start a business relationship
with our company. We look forward to giving you a 10-20% finders fee on any
printing projects we produce for you or one of your referrals. Furthermore,
we assign a lot of our clientsą design work to freelance designers, and I
will start recommending you to our clients for their design needs.

Please email me detailed specs for any estimates you or your client need for
upcoming printing jobs. Our company is always ahead of the competition on
price, and I know we can save you thousands on your jobs. Note, we also
print all sorts of promotional items such as pads, pens, bags, clothing,
etc. and have full scale mailing services in-house.

I look forward to working with you soon.

PS. Rush service is our specialty. Our plants operate 24/7.

Always at your service,

Dave Piken
Print Media
350 Seventh Ave
New York, NY 10001
(212) 563-4040 Tel
(212) 563-4041 Fax

You probably got it because a spam bot sent one out to everyone with the term "graphic designer" in their resume on Monster.com. I know this letter was a scam because I don't even have a live portfolio link in my resume.

I don't trust printers that approach me, especially on the web. Hell, I have a hard time trusting walk-in print houses sometimes. With tales of rip-offs and scams, why would someone out of the blue just want to tell me about their services? How did he/she even know I was a designer? Their technique is to butter people up to make us trust them. I don't buy it.

PrintDriver
06-29-2006, 04:40 PM
Hmmm...Surf with that line of thinking why would I trust a Graphic Designer who phones me outta the blue offering me design services based on a scan through the phone book or an online search.

It's a form of web cold calling.
I wouldn't necessarily call it a scam.
After reading that letter, I'm positive he's just a broker.
He could have gotten your name any one of a hundred different ways.
I'd say he's resourceful.

Someone give him a try. Let us know how the prints turn out. ;)

Logo-Mechanix
06-29-2006, 06:16 PM
I have gotten business from just sending out emails to companies. It's not a bad idea, any good salesman will tell you cold calling works.

Ovaltine
06-29-2006, 06:45 PM
Its spam dude! Did you get this email?

You probably got it because a spam bot sent one out to everyone with the term "graphic designer" in their resume on Monster.com. I know this letter was a scam because I don't even have a live portfolio link in my resume.

I don't trust printers that approach me, especially on the web. Hell, I have a hard time trusting walk-in print houses sometimes. With tales of rip-offs and scams, why would someone out of the blue just want to tell me about their services? How did he/she even know I was a designer? Their technique is to butter people up to make us trust them. I don't buy it.

Actually it was this exact e-mail. I kind-of thought it sounded shady. Wasn't sure though, my portfolio IS actually referenced on my Monster account.
Thanks.

steve-o
06-29-2006, 07:15 PM
Dave Piken
Print Media
350 Seventh Ave
New York, NY 10001

Send JPNYC on a field trip.

urstwile
06-29-2006, 07:20 PM
I'd be skeptical of any print company that doesn't know how to spell stationery.

ssides
06-29-2006, 08:25 PM
ooh ooh i got that email too! And I also do not have an online portfolio. Totally Spam.
I dont think I like spam very much.

SurfPark
06-30-2006, 01:49 AM
I don't care if the guy is a legit printer or not, I think its bad taste to send out phoney flattery. Its insulting to patronize someone's work you've never even seen. It just goes to show that compliments from this guy come without much merit. Nothing makes you feel like just another number than a generic spam letter like that.

PrintDriver
06-30-2006, 10:50 AM
Then perhaps this is a lesson learned.

I can't tell you how many cover letters and blind emails I get that love the company I work for and what we do and want to work for me and "want a position with a company where I can learn and grow" <gag> but send the letter to "Dear Department Head".