Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : coincidence .... or, not?
3howards
07-23-2004, 02:49 AM
was browsing around and came up on this site, http://www.chillisauce.co.uk/and knew i had seen it before. so i went back to look, http://www.fatchilli.net/and the sites are the same. coincidence? i dunno, but i sure hope they are associated with one another.
crappy thing is, i did that logo for fat chilli and don't want my work associated with this kind of stuff ... what to do, what to do?
uncle carbunkle
07-23-2004, 03:02 AM
http://www.graphicdesignforum.com/emoticons/blink.gif
holy crap.
3h, you only did the logo - you didn't set up the business practices. if you're that worried though, take it out of your book. saying that, it's pretty sweet and i wouldn't want to have to do that if i were you.
fatchilli's contact address is in devon, uk, and the other one is right in downtown london, uk. they're neighbours, so if they haven't heard of each other yet - they might soon. chilliesauce is a hen/stag/corporate function-type company...not at all what fatchilli does. i'd hazarda guess that either someone ripped off someone else (case in point: a talented & successful illustrator friend of mine had a piece ripped off by a reasonably successful band. turns out the label outsourced their cover design to a firm who didn't check their designer's sources of inspriration...) or they've both bought the same cheap-ass template.
again, http://www.graphicdesignforum.com/emoticons/blink.gif
!!!Laissezles Bon Temps ROULEZ!!!
Keyare
07-23-2004, 03:14 AM
Ha ha - holy carp. What ^UNC^ said. I just looked up the domains too!
Must be some kind pf portal software template or something.
BUT if it were an actual copy of your logo on another site - even if you sold them the copyright you could still nail their asses under MORAL copyright...which you can never sell.
But that ain't the case. They're owned by totally different copmanies on different ISP networks.
MORE RED!!
What a gas! Yeah, must be a template... man I hate those. but your Fat Chili logo looks very cool. Nice job.
Ben Dare & Dun Dat
http://www.etherealview.com/images/Ethereal-Logo-(eMail).gif
3howards
07-23-2004, 06:14 PM
hehe, i sent an anonymous email to both about the design. i'm looking forward to seeing what happens ...
i guess i don't have to remove the logo from my portfolio. it's not like i have a link to the site ...
LMAO! Can you say template. LOL!
D-Zine
07-23-2004, 06:38 PM
Yeah you didn't have anything to do with the site...leave the logo in your portfolio!
Oh when they email you back you have to let us know what they said!! :oP
uncle carbunkle
07-23-2004, 06:55 PM
you're such a crap-stir! post the emails!
:)
!!!Laissezles Bon Temps ROULEZ!!!
3howards
07-23-2004, 07:56 PM
heheh, i just told them that i found a site they probably weren't aware of. i'm checking my email now, i used one of my yahoo accounts.
D-Zine
07-23-2004, 08:05 PM
Unc..did you call me a crap-stir??
ROFL!!!
BuckarooB
07-23-2004, 08:21 PM
parody - imitation is the sincerest form of flattery...
'Dear Mister/Mis Howards; In answer to your recent electronic communiques; Our attorney has informed us that we are well within our rights to steal your work because everybody on the internet thinks everything there is free to use. We live by the adage, 'Oh, if you need it - get it off the internet'.
Sincerely - and by that we mean you may bite us square on the bums...
(signed) the perpetrators
No Matter Where You Go... There You Are.
SigPho
07-23-2004, 08:43 PM
That's so crazy! When I first saw them I thought, they've got to be related, but even if they are you'd think they'd try to be unique to differentiate between the two. Ripping off is so lame-o. It shows a lack of respect and creativity.
3howards
07-23-2004, 08:57 PM
the guy from fat chilli emailed back and said that it was probably a template from futuretemplates. he said he'd talk to his designer and then try to get a hold of someone at chillisauce. we'll see ....
uncle carbunkle
07-24-2004, 12:34 AM
template-o-rama. SEE NOOBS AND NON-DESIGN-TYPES? THAT is why templates are BAD. but what about the chilli-ness? oh, so silly, chilli.
d-zine: actually, i was calling 3h a crap-stir! i thought it might be taken wrong once i posted, but then i figured you were probably one too, so i didn't change it. :)
what? am i wrong?
!!!Laissezles Bon Temps ROULEZ!!!
DeleteYourself
07-24-2004, 12:40 AM
I don't get it. The sites are not the same. Has one changed the look?
http://www.dafenix.org/todd/dy.gif
Support Music and Arts Education
www.dafenix.org (http://www.dafenix.org)
uncle carbunkle
07-24-2004, 12:44 AM
HAHAHAHAHA! THAT'S A RESULT FOR THE BOOKS!
and i quote:
'As a Graphic & Website Design Studio, we decided that you should be able to see what we can do on our own website. As a result, we have decided to have a random design everyday. The more designs we do, the great the variety on our website.
Check back tomorrow to see which design is live then.'
yeeeoop.
!!!Laissezles Bon Temps ROULEZ!!!
uncle carbunkle
07-24-2004, 12:45 AM
DY - they were identical templates. it was really funny, given the close physical proximity and the chilli names and all.
!!!Laissezles Bon Temps ROULEZ!!!
3howards
07-24-2004, 02:03 AM
wow, they changed it already! hahahahahahahahahaha.............................
ylaenna
07-26-2004, 10:33 PM
I'm confuddled. They still look the same.
THINGS GO WELL AH MAHT BE SHOWIN HER MAH OH FACE...
Ryan8720
07-26-2004, 11:16 PM
Yep, they are still the same for me.
http://edgewebdesign.org/ryan2.gif (http://www.edgewebdesign.org)
If it weren't for the last minute, nothing would ever get done.
Never put off till tomorrow what you can avoid all together.
3howards
07-26-2004, 11:51 PM
ahh, they changed it again ... wow.
Magnus
07-27-2004, 12:52 AM
Wow that's amusing. Hahahahahah...
"The function of a warrior is to eliminate an exterior enemy presence. A warrior is an antitoxin, a protector. The warrior does combat where and when necessary and not otherwise. "
- Ambrose Hollingworth Redmoon
uncle carbunkle
07-27-2004, 06:14 PM
they're SUPERclever. they've got a 'template chooser' in the bottom left corner. you can choose which template you want to see the site in. that's nice.
...Ruffa' dan ruff, tuffa' dan tuff...
There second template is really nice by the way. Good find there uncle!
Ryan8720
07-27-2004, 07:45 PM
I think it's funny that they are a graphic and web design company, but they are using templates and outsourced their logo.
http://edgewebdesign.org/ryan2.gif (http://www.edgewebdesign.org)
If it weren't for the last minute, nothing would ever get done.
Never put off till tomorrow what you can avoid all together.
What I want to know is how did they get that Dam Sony account. Weirdos! The funny thing is they are probably lurking our board right now reading everything we say about them...
Ryan8720
07-27-2004, 08:17 PM
Good! *shakes fist* Start designing your site yourselfs you lazy bastids.
http://edgewebdesign.org/ryan2.gif (http://www.edgewebdesign.org)
If it weren't for the last minute, nothing would ever get done.
Never put off till tomorrow what you can avoid all together.
uncle carbunkle
07-27-2004, 09:25 PM
yeah, i thought about that when 3h said she was emailing them. i think it's awesome that they're doing the bbc site and whatever whatever whatever, but the logo thing was just odd and the template thing doesn't lend them any credability as designers.
that's all. now it's just interesting to watch.
...Ruffa' dan ruff, tuffa' dan tuff...