Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : hmm has anyone used these guys?
ser1992
11-18-2006, 09:52 PM
www.expresscameras.com
$399 for a nikon d80? sounds good.... a little too good :confused: check the kits they sell, like the body with the 18mm-135mm nikon ed lens, 1gb card, tripod and case for $950 or something like that! are these guys shisters because i am ready to place an order! because my local shop wants $1399 for just the lens and body :eek:
morea
11-18-2006, 09:54 PM
eek, that sounds suspiciously good to me... be careful.
urstwile
11-18-2006, 09:57 PM
A friend of mine recently went through this kind of thing. What he discovered is that what you get is just the camera body, none of the other stuff that you'd need for the camera. Be very careful and ask them exactly what you get for that price.
xplod_ldg
11-30-2006, 12:33 AM
Sounds too good to be true...
Jackimalyn
11-30-2006, 02:25 PM
digital cameras are different (digital point and shoots) the camera I have is actually $55 more expensive on that site than anywhere else Ive seen it
Jackimalyn
11-30-2006, 02:33 PM
not to hijack the thread or anything but has anyone ever used beachcamera .com? they seem pretty nicely priced too. doesnt seem realistic
captain spanky
12-05-2006, 01:43 PM
$400 for a rebel body?!?!?!?! that's like, £200 in real money!!! my dad paid £1200 for his with a basic lens... yeeeek that can't be right...
mac.FINN
12-05-2006, 03:11 PM
I'd compare prices you find anywhere, with prices here
www.henrys.com (http://www.henrys.com/)
or any other, real world seller.
They sell retail as well as online and they're prices are pretty equal to what's out there.
If the prices you find online are ridiculously cheaper than you can find in stores... you'd better find out why before you buy.
SharkFinStudios
12-06-2006, 05:18 PM
It's a rip-off of some sort. I recently purchased a D80 after much research. Body alone costs $999 and that's without anything. I bought a few other things, too. Some of the great websites you can go to are http://www.keh.com/onlinestore/home.aspx or bhphotovideo.com. They are both great stores and you get great equipment.
Any new camera that is at a price like that is sketchy and I wouldn't trust my credit card to a place like that.
Steve Buchanan
12-07-2006, 03:10 AM
This is a tried and true internet scam that works like this.
Me: 'Hi I want to order the new digital camera on your site for $xxx'
Them: 'Ok, that is camera only, of course you'll need the battery, strap, case, tripod, software and henweigh'
Me: 'NO, I just want the camera body, I can deal with the rest'
repeat this dialog 4 or 5 times with them getting more belligerent with each go round
Them: 'Ok, camera only for $xxx, give me your credit card number and we'll ship'
Me: 'xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx expires xx/xxxx'
Two days later a 'customer service' rep calls and wants to make sure I don't need the massively overpriced and crappy accessories, I say no (5 more times) and he hangs up and says the camera will be here in two days
4 weeks later you get an email saying the item is no longer available and the order has been cancelled.
They never charged your card but it's been 4 weeks, you've got no camera, a big headache and oh yeah, some real unsavory people have your credit card number.
If it sounds to good to be true, it is.
Stick with the big online sellers and do a google search for online storefront you don't know. The horror stories are out there
Drazan
12-07-2006, 03:30 AM
google their name - they are scammers.