Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : Has anyone gotten any scam private messages from this site?
DesignStudio
02-19-2007, 09:56 AM
I just got the private message posted below. I just joined this forum today, and already have this PM, which makes me a little suspicious because I didn't even post a link to my portfolio or anything. The person who PMed me also just joined this month it looks like. I may just be sceptical (once burned twice shy) but is it common to get scam requests like this from people trying to get free work or wanting to send you virus attachments or something? They "I need it today" thing combined with the mispelling makes me think maybe they intend to either take the work and not pay, or that they have some other motive. thanks for your opinions here.
here's the pm i recieved:
help needed
Hi basically i need some help with a design im not that rich and need a cheap but gud background image creating. so is paid
Ive bought this template and needed a new header background as it does not go too well with my logo.
Link removed
my logo is viewable at website removed will provide psd files only if your willing to help. the only problem is i need it for today
Thanks
Suley
P.s if u wnat add me to msn on Email Removed
Drazan
02-19-2007, 11:57 AM
Not from here, but I have received them on other sites. However, a few were legit. Some people looking for services do not want to post on a forum publicly, but see an upstanding netizen through posts. They'll contact that person for legit work.
However, in your case, I would also be suspicious of this one.
=)
Jade
morea
02-19-2007, 12:49 PM
Slightly off topic: for the record, using private messages to violate the rules of the forum (advertising, requests for free work) is absolutely not allowed here. If anyone DOES get inappropriate private messages, please let one of the mods know so that we can deal with it.
I would be wary of this too, DS. And I wouldn't download the files.
budafist
02-19-2007, 09:24 PM
Never got one of those from here.
need a cheap but gud background image creating
They are looking for a gud (http://www.gudmagazine.com/) job. :D
Samakimoto Graphics
02-20-2007, 07:40 AM
Simply ignore... that looks suspicious to me too.
I still have one in my inbox, which I received a few days after signing up. I thought that was pretty odd. Anyway, I looked for who the mods are, but I couldn't figure it out.
I take it morea that you are one?
solidgold
02-20-2007, 02:54 PM
i got one of those, to which i repied negatively but i didnt get any sort of reply, so i just forgot about it
balou
02-20-2007, 03:00 PM
I still have one in my inbox, which I received a few days after signing up. I thought that was pretty odd. Anyway, I looked for who the mods are, but I couldn't figure it out.
I take it morea that you are one?
Mods names are in bold green letters - like mine. Also, when you go to the Forum home page, http://www.graphicdesignforum.com/forum/index.php?, towards the bottom in the "What's going on" box, is a list of currently active users. Mods that are present will be shown in bold green letters. Some users choose to be "invisible" in their control panel. They will not show up on the list even though they are online.
morea
02-21-2007, 12:23 AM
<- invisible, but not usually very far from the computer.
Thanks. I should hone up on my observation skills!