Hi from Phoenix!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi from Phoenix!

So, brand new forum member. Looking to expand on my forum options as some of the subjects can get repetitive after a while. Been looking for some place to share with/help others in the design field.

A bit about me. I'm 46, wife and two kids. Got started in the design business in 1999 when I was hired as an Ad Compositor at the Desert Sun (Gannett-owned daily newspaper) in Palm Springs, California. I kind of fell into this niche area and haven't left. My grandfather was a pressman, so I guess it kind of runs in the family.

We moved to Arizona in 2000 and I had a series of jobs for small weeklies until 2004 when I was hired by Pueblo Publishers, Inc. We put out the Glendale Star and the Peoria Times, both newspapers of record for Glendale, Arizona and Peoria, Arizona, respectively.

I've been doing this for almost 18 years now and since most of the work is small newspapers is usually just me doing ads, layout and pagination. My boss made me manager in 2013. At that point there was just me and one other person. Now it's just me. So, I manage myself.

The majority of my experience is QuarkXPress 3.x to 8.5.1. I switched to InDesign CS4 in 2011 only because I knew that I was never going to learn it at all unless I got paid for it. So I provided myself with on the job traning.

Looking forward to engaging with other members here.

Thanks for reading!
    Erik Youngren Pueblo Publishers, Composing Manager
    2.8Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro | InDesign CS4 | Suitcase Fusion 5

Hi Eyoungren and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment