Existential crisis of a designer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Existential crisis of a designer

The problem is simple yet so complicated. I have just started my journey of becoming a designer, I know it's what I want and what I am made for but the thing is I don't know which type of design I want to dive in. I have a degree as a Multimedia Designer and it would only make sense to jump into graphic design next, but I'm not sure it's what I want. I'm very much interested in photography and art and magazines and blogs, but I also have been discovering an interest in fashion design (which might be just temporary though). I have always had a lot of interests at once which end up leading to confusion, my creative mind has no chill and I don't know how to find a way to express what is going on in my brain, so now I just have no idea what to choose/do.. Help?

Hi AroundTheFur and welcome to GDF.

If your drive is based on a desire to express what's going on in your brain, why did you choose graphic design instead of fine art?

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

Try this on for size:
      segd.org

The environmental and experiential graphics field is a combination of all the things you listed.

But like Kitch said, with Graphic Design, YOU don't get to decide how you express your art. Your clients' needs dictate the end result, and if you can't work within that kind of constraint, you will not ever be happy in this field.

Comment

Originally posted by PrintDriver View Post