Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mortgage for freelance graphic designer

Hi,
    I am a freelancer. I never went to design school, I actually did my masters in political science from British Colombia University. Later I turned to design after working at an agency for two years, Now I am a freelancer. I make pretty good money. Now I am facing a problem. My own house has been a dream for awhile now. But I read that getting a mortgage can be hard for freelancers. I have a solid amount as savings. It will be enough to pay 25-30% of a property I want, as down payment. I want to know what is different for a freelancer. Also what kind of mortgage will be good for me?(Currently, I am getting good money now but you can never know.) I am currently living in Edmonton. And as I did a search for brokers for mortgage rates comparison I found these guys. How is their service? Any one with real information about all this please advise.

You are asking a bunch of designers for mortgage advise?
    Or are you advertising for the mortgage company?
    Either is fraught with danger. LOL.

It also sounds like you might be in Canada?

I only have personal experience to draw from.
    I am in the US.
    Your legal mileage will vary.

When I went looking for a mortgage, the first place I started was my bank, which happens to be a Credit Union. Those are a little more client friendly than big banks. They were infinitely helpful in figuring out exactly what I could afford, and exactly how large a mortgage I could draw without being pushy about being the ones to front the loan. They didn't base it on my weekly paycheck. The based it on my base salary (no overtime) over the past 3 years. If you've had a bad year, that will matter.