X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Counting Pixels

I'm a young professional graphic designer working at the corporate office in a restaurant chain. We don't have an art or design department, so I am technically with Marketing. The VP of Marketing is extremely detail oriented (read: anal retentive). She is not my boss; rather, we both report to the same person.

We sell merchandise on our website and this person is working with a third party vendor on that portion of our website. I'm not 100% sure of every conversation she's had with them, but the situation has been presented to me as if they are unable to handle creative direction we provided. I've seen their final product, and while there are slight differences, they can be easily fixed.

She, however, does not seem to trust anything they have presented us with and has asked me to go behind them and literally count their pixels to make sure everything lines up correctly and the spacing is 100% accurate. She has also asked me to provide her with a detailed explanation of each discrepancy and provide exact direction to the third party (ie - 'move this element 4 pixels to the left and 2 pixels down').

What is your opinion on this situation? Have you ever been asked to count pixels for any reason? I fully support the use of a grid and linear accuracy, but I think this is getting obessive. I do not count pixels in my work and have never seen a reason to start. Am I wrong to think her request is a waste of hours of my time?

Welcome to the forum pixelatedpaint. Please read these important threads posted HERE and especially HERE. They will explain a lot about how the forum runs, from the rules and regulations to frequently discussed topics to the background on some of our lingo and inside jokes.