I really need help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I really need help

don't know what to do anymore, I just need help. This will be kind of long...

I've been working at this place for about four months now, got out of school recently. Our main boss (the owner) sets (what I feel to be) unrealistic deadlines - a working mobile site in 30-45 days, including design and development. Our developers get the brunt of it. He once asked them "why is it taking you 2-3 weeks when one of my former developers could do it it in 2-3 days?" - nevermind that this guy was a genius and things were much simpler.

If the customer got more than one product, the site comes first, and everything else would follow along to fit the style. He asked us once where I was with design, and I told him this - we've been doing it like this for some time. He snidely replied "so they're going to have a nice mobile site and a crappy website in the meantime?"

Now, I've barely been there four months and they want me to start with project management, along with my other work - with no mention of raise or even benefits.

I don't know if this is normal for this kind of work, or I'm in a shitty place. I feel like I should be stronger, but morale it seems has been going down, and sometimes I feel like I have more work than hours. Recently the developers were asked to stay an extra hour, and even though I don't have to, I end up doing it, because sometimes work would spill into after hours or weekend.

I don't know what to do anymore, it feels like my soul has been drained, but I don't know if this is normal or not. On the other hand, almost every day, I wish I could think of a way to not go into work at all. I'm so angry at myself, thinking maybe this isn't for me, but I don't want to say I wasted years at school.