Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lacking creativity, leave the field?

Sorry for the novel, but here it goes

So this issue has been plaguing me for a while-- I REALLY struggle with coming up with creative graphic design ideas. Now, I know creative block is a common problem that people have from time to time but I feel like I suffer from it more often than not. I'm currently a graphic design student and I'm technically a junior, but I'm just in a pre-graphic/general design program that I'm required to take to apply to the graphic design program. I'm in the pre-design program because I transferred here from another school with a much weaker program (so it'll take me a total of six years to actually get my degree...woohoo!) At my previous school I took graphic design 1 as well as typography and I felt like I was just struggling my way through with pretty uninteresting ideas (there was also very little instruction or critique from this school.)

I suppose my overarching question is does it get easier to get ideas flowing as one studies graphic design more? I know good ideas don't just appear out of nowhere and I also realize that a lot of people reference ideas from design inspiration websites, but I feel like there's a very thin line between inspiration and copying. I think graphic design is really interesting and I feel confident that I know what works and what doesn't when I see a design, but I struggle so much when it comes to creating my own work. When I do make something that works it's really exciting but usually I stare at the screen frustrated. I've been running myself into the ground wondering if I need to leave design to pursue something more finite (and boring) that will put bread on the table or if I should try to stick it out and hope the creativity comes.