At a loss. A rant.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• At a loss. A rant.

So I'm a design student that spends hours a day trying to perfect my craft. I should be done within a year with my program. I'm currently unemployed and I'm looking into work in my field. My main focus is design and illustration. Here's the rant. I literally can't find work. Even places to apply. I'm currently trying to go through a temp agency, but to no avail. The 1 graphic design job they have posted wants like 3+ years of experience. I would either start my own business and/or freelance, but the only thing I know to do is to weed through the scams on craigslist and it's a crapshoot. I feel at such a loss because I literally don't know where to go or what to do to begin my search. My school offers no guidance or job placement. Plus, it's an online program and I live out of state. Does anyone know what to do? Has anyone been in this situation? My issue isn't getting turned down for jobs ,but FINDING the jobs in the first place!!

I'm due to graduate in two years, and noticing the trend of everyone wanting to hire people with experience I've started early. So I suggest trying to find an internship before you graduate. People are more willing to give internships to students rather than hire outright. Of course even internships have been hard to find. I've been checking out http://www.internships.com/.

What I did was to begin freelancing. Don't underestimate the power of cold emailing. If you notice a need, fill it. As clients returned and became long-term clients I can list them in my professional experience. Add that to a self made portfolio and you have something going for you.

Oh and don't underestimate the power of networking. I got my first long term clients from "a guy who knows a guy". Join meetups, not just for designers but also small business. They may not have anyone they are using for design yet, and need someone local.

Comment