Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to say "No, it doesn't need to be re-branded"

Hey all,

Sure has been a while, and I hate to come in here on my soap box as my big return, but ahhh, I need a little vent.

I work as an in-house designer for a large company of roughly 400 employees. We have two designers. For the past year my boss has been on maternity leave. She is not a designer/art director, but deals more with public relations. In the interim, we have had a fill-in running our marketing department. Things are deteriorating quickly, our brand, which we paid a lot of money to create is swiftly being thrown out due to boredom. Everyone wants a fresh look, less corporate, but don't want to pay for a redesign. The want an evolution of the brand but do not have any goals, outcomes, or reasons. There is no end goal. We suggest things, they like it, then someone makes a single comment, and we can't ever do that style again. Me and the other designer would do a rebrand, but it would never fly. Noone would agree. The only way it would happen is if we outsourced it, and even then, it would be a huge struggle, and they refuuse to do that. When we design something branded to our style, it gets thrown out. We have no consistency, we brand things according to the publication its going in, not to our identity. We almost camouflage ourselves...

We are a big company, and we have events that repeat every year. We have memos that go out about office activities (ie clean up day, performance review time, town hall etc) These events are usually once a year. The branding for it was developed, but here's my complaint. Every time someone discovered our company has designers they want things re-branded... they want to change the memo's background, they want to "jazz" it up. If I hear "jazz it up" one more time.... How can I tell them, that your memo doesn't need new imagery. It's a huge waste of my time, as I have so much other stuff on my plate.