Education: Continue/Not Continue?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Education: Continue/Not Continue?

Kind of a trick question, because the answer is continue. However, I was hoping to gain some advice from working professionals. I graduated in 2012 with a bachelors in Video Production, I never did anything with it. I just didn't feel as though it was my passion, blah blah blah. Anyways, last fall I found a program in my area for a graphic design certificate. A year and half and you're done. Which sounded wonderful, at first. For the first time in my life, I'm into school and I do not want it to end. I often think, "man if I majored in this the first time..". So my schooling will be done in May and I simply will not have the skill set to work professionally. I want to continue learning, but I'm not certain the best approach. If money wasn't a factor then boom I'd start from scratch and earn a full 4 year design degree. But if I did that I would come out nearly 100k in debt, yikes. So my predicament is that my portfolio/overall knowledge will be under developed by the time my school comes to end. My portfolio might have 4-6 pieces by then. The easy answer seems to be to develop my own pieces, but again my skill set will still need work. Has anyone been in this position or something similar? Any suggestions? Thanks guys...

Long ago I was a hard science major for two years, then on a whim took a design class to fill an elective requirement. For the first time I was expected to create instead of memorize and I loved it.

The next year I switched my major and spent the next four years studying fine arts and design. I could have sped through the program with two years of school already under my belt, but I felt that I really did need (and want) those four full years, so I stuck with it, then even went on to graduate school.