My would-be career in the tank.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My would-be career in the tank.

Just a heads-up, this post is long, whiny and kind of a downer, but I really need some advice, so much thanks to anyone with the patience to read it.

I'm stuck. I've been designing for about 12 years (including my time in school because I was working in the field at the time), and for most of this time I felt I was at least an okay designer or at least felt I had some potential. I earned a BFA from an accredited university that's known to have a good design program after which I went to work for a small production studio that had a fairly strong reputation, at least locally. However, I think I spent most of my time at that studio archiving projects and taking out trash and doing other odd jobs.

I was often tasked with doing production work for the senior designer, which is what I expected, but was rarely called on to design anything of my own in the three years I was there. In fact, at one point my creative director mentioned to me that he hired me because I had experience working with phone book ads (which was my first design job) and they were trying to put together a program where some of their clients could have quick, cheap ads created for them to advertise across vast numbers of locations. So apparently they hired me because I could do quick and cheap, which wasn't how I intended to promote myself.

That firm went out of business due to some bad investments in a weak economy, so I then went to work in-house for a company that doesn't pay well and doesn't really appreciate good design because I couldn't get in anywhere else. I've been there for the past four years.