Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dealing with office gossip and immaturity?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dealing with office gossip and immaturity?

In short, I'm an internal graphic designer at a cubical-like office environment and have been at this company for 11 months. For the most part, I am friendly, but tend to keep to myself. A hard worker and I cover print, animation and web. Whereas my colleagues only handle print. My team has 6 people. 1 manager, 1 production manager, and 4 designers including me.

My team has weekly meetings to discuss jobs currently in the pipeline. However, they tend to use this time to trash talk about other employees, and the best part about it is that I believe it comes from the top. My manager even gets in on the action. I feel like the odd ball because I don't take part in these conversations. I refuse to. I don't have a speaking role because they're all just trash talking, and I'm in the corner just smiling or grinning whenever someone makes eye contact.

At times, I'm the subject of the gossip as well, which does bother me because I have to work closely with these people. For the most part, my stress reliever is listening to music or talking to myself. To my face, it's just a friendly haze, whereas they really start getting personal when the 5 of them start whispering at one of their cubicles.

My question is, how can I not let this take over my emotions day to day? I would like to take the easy way out and find a new job, but I find this happens at every job which causes me to resign. I keep telling myself that I need to toughen up, but I have no one to relate to. Especially being the youngest on the team. I just want some maturity!!

Any tips?

Oh man, I've been in a work place like this and it was cancerous and caused me to leave also. But I've also seen people who handle it well and I think the best thing to do is rise above it.

That takes several things: