How can I return to this field?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How can I return to this field?

Hi. I made a thread a while ago discussing this issue. Here's the link: http://www.graphicdesignforum.com/fo...in-my-interest

I had started a graphic design course and then lost interest in the field for silly and immature reasons, plus I didn't have the right mentality at the time.

I've been working in a print shop for almost 3 years now after finishing the Printing course at school. I enjoy it somewhat, but I feel like it's not what I should be doing. I feel like I should be doing something more creative with my life. This probably sounds like a stupid question, but is it too late to go back into this field? I ask because I know it is such a competitive field. I still have all the notes and handouts given to me during the graphic design course. Do I just go over them or should I ask to redo the whole course, even though I completed it and got my diploma? Maybe I should even learn a new skill that can help me stand out, like become better at drawing and/or painting

What about the software that I need to improve my creativity and help build my portfolio? I already have the CS5 versions of Photoshop and Illustrator on my laptop. I used QuarkXPress and InDesign when I was in school. Should I download those to practice with as well?

I'd really appreciate any advice you guys can give me, like where I need to restart and who else I should talk to.
    Last edited by graphic91; 02-14-2017, 07:10 PM.

Its never too late . . .

Can't guarantee you'll get a job but it makes sense to brush up at least on your course. If you finished it and got your diploma you can put that on your CV / Resumé. If its more than 5 years since you left the course it might make sense to retake - things have changed a bit.