Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I start my own graphic design business?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I start my own graphic design business?

I graduated with a degree in Multimedia design a little over 2 years ago and still have yet to find a job in the graphic design field. I'm very capable of not only doing graphic and web design but also mobile UX/UI design. I recently relocated from the Bay Area California to Arizona and have found that they offer less jobs in this field and the jobs they do offer, require lots of experience. I've been in the field of graphic design for over 20 years I'd say as I started out designing simple posters, flyers and album covers for friends when I was a teen. When attempting to compose my resume, I have no professional experience to list and it seems as though all of the freelance work I previously did for friends/ mom and pop companies, have no weight. I'm at the point in my life to where I'm looking for something consistent as I have a family to support but I'm having no luck. Many people suggest that I just start my own graphic design business and try to gain stride that way as oppose to applying for jobs that require me to have lots of professional experience within a company. I'm very frustrated and was wondering if any other designers have had this problem when searching for a job? Any advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Mr. and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment