Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Am I wrong for feeling frustrated about this?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I wrong for feeling frustrated about this?

Hey all,

Just wanted to get some perspective.

I work as a graphic designer for an advertising agency. However, our Creative Director has been out on maternity leave, so I took over some of her responsibilities temporarily while she is gone. Part of that included coming up with original scripts and concepts for a big client that we work with on a ton of campaigns. I was excited as this was a huge opportunity for me to prove myself and get the chance to actually come up with the original concepts myself. I needed concepts for two separate campaigns for the same client.

After presenting the concepts to my team, my supervisor asked for some slight revisions, and also asked me to prepare some additional scripts and concepts just so the client would have options to choose from.

For one of the campaigns, we'll call it campaign A, one of the major revisions was to the color palette. My supervisor felt as if the colors were too feminine for what was supposed to be a masculine demo. While I disagreed, I took her advice and reworked the concept to appear much more masculine. Additionally, she wanted a change to the fonts because she said we used this certain font too often. She thought that the original script was great but just needed a few tweaks. I made those revisions, and also came up with some alternative scripts. I find out that they are also going to have our Creative Director come up with a concept, because we are all about giving clients options. I was totally fine with that, after all I figured that the client would choose which they liked best and what was better suited for the campaign.