Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fired from 1st design job!!!HELP!

[img]/emoticons/hop.gif[/img]
    So glad I discoverd your forum-
    Okay, Im new here! but decided you guys might be able to relate to my pain- Went to college & just graduated last June. Took a non GD job in the meantime to put food on he table. Finally was offered a good paying job ($32K/yr) working for a marketing company. Did my 1st 5 days there last week. Had a lead designer over me (bossy -arrogant-rejected all my mock-ups & criticized my work-in front of the boss).Also I have a boss who cannot communicate for nothing. Yesterday, the lead designer pullled me to the side & just told me that I was not the person for the job & the boss told him to tell me this. Im thinking that I wasn't fast enough for them. I feel really awful-this lead designer kept showing everyone in the office his portfolio(and of course it ROCKS! he has like 10 years experience-all SELF taught-no degree whatsoever).

They want me to produce logos, ads, etc in only a few hours time & it was taking me a few days to finish at least 2-3 projects. Well that wasn't good enough for them, so they let me go. Not sure if the designer lead had anything to do with it but Im sure he did. It's really a small company & they might be feeling that I wasn't good enough for what they are paying me. I mean, who knows?? Good thing is I don't have to design all those annoying pop up email ads with false claims to 'make $5,000 a week from home' LIES & such anymore!!! Oh gosh-what we put up with & do to make a living & do DESIGN work!
    [img]/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif[/img]

I'm discouraged-It blows & hurts raw to be rejected-Now I have 0 confidence that another design firm would hire me. Granted that the former job really wasn't my dream job. I just needed a job & experience in the GD field.
    I would really like to work for an ad agency or a design firm or a magazine,newspaper..