My Take: In-house vs Agency

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Take: In-house vs Agency

I've been a professional designer for twenty years, 4 year degree, awards, blah blah... I've worked for "famous" local agencies, free lance, retail in-house and very large very corporate in-house.
    By far, I have found the better pay to be in-house (anywhere from 20-50% more), the paid time off to be almost double (11 days to 21 days per year) and the medical benefits to be better at several in-house jobs compared to several agency jobs. And if you have kids the flexibility of a large company has proven to be better (no owner watching your every move, while middle manager at large corp allows more freedom of hours )Retail in-house can be a different story, but in-house for large banks, medical, tech, etc companies seems to be vastly better.

I feel like this is a dirty little secret in our field. Most of us dream of spectacular clients and doing award winging work while in school only to realize agencies may over work you and under pay you. I have found this to be the case time and time again, yet a huge portion of our peers will never know because they refuse to apply for the "corporate" culture.

Have you found the same to be true?

I've never worked for an agency for many of the reasons you listed. Ive been in-house for a few places over the years. I've found if it's a medium to large sized company, in-house definitely has benefits of better pay, good vacation, benefits, etc. and usually (ymmv) better flexibility when it comes to having to leave early, come in late, doctor appointments, sick kids and what not.

However, you do generally have to deal with smaller (or for all intents and purposes) non-existent budgets, generally less "creative" work and more "meddling" since your work is not being charged by the hour. Once again, ymmv.