Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Endless short term contracts - I can't find anything long lasting.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Endless short term contracts - I can't find anything long lasting.

I've been freelancing for the past 2.5 years and it hasn't been easy. I have about 2-3 years experience and I work primarily in Motion Graphics and Graphic Design for entertainment (film and TV). I do a lot of bouncing around which shows on my resume and doesn't look good to anyone (recruiters, art directors, etc.). The company that I'm currently with now actually told me this outright, they literally said in the interview that it doesn't look good that I spent such a short amount of time at so many different companies and asked why none of my other companies decided to hold on to me longer.

It happens like this. I start at Agency xyz, around the second or third week my Art Director mentions something like "can we keep you for another week?" The way he fraise it makes it seem as though he intentioned to keep me shorter but in almost all of my interviews the Art Director clearly says that she wants to keep me permanently. For instance, one recent producer offered me double my (then) current rate so I quit my job. However, after a week this producer suddenly let me go without any warning or explanation whatsoever. HR simply brought me into their office and told me it was because they had hit a lull in work and there simply wasn't enough work for me to do. But my agency later called me and told me the Producer had been passive-aggressively complaining that my work was slow in one area.

This is a HUGE problem because if my resume is riddled with short contracts it makes me appear bad even though some of the positions I left were due to low pay or poor management. Also in some instances, a companies only needs a designer for a week or two and have no intention of holding on to them longer. This is especially true in Holiday season.