To tutorial or not to tutorial?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To tutorial or not to tutorial?

Just about every artist uses tutorials although probably not all of them like to admit it. However is it okay for someone to use a tutorial in their commercial work or portfolio?
    A few years ago when I was a recent graduate I was invited to an ďinternship mixerĒ with a high end studio in the US. For privacy, I wonít name the studio, but itís internationally recognized - it has multiple offices around the globe including London, NYC, and LA and many of the artist flew in from all over the world to attend this mixer.
    Anyway, the recruiter brought us in to a room to meet us and go over our portfolios. There were about ten artists and we all took turns presenting our work in front of each other. Everyone had extremely impressive work but I noticed one of the artists had a few tutorials that I recognized from my favorite youtube channel. Now Iím the first to admit that I use a tutorials all the time and Iím not claiming there is anything wrong with that. But what bothered me was that he used the tutorial in his portfolio and passed it off as his.
    In the end, I didnít get the job and Iím not sure if he did either. I was already employed at the time and the pay was low (it was a paid internship) I so I didnít really care. I have since worked with other companies although not quite as prestigious as this one. I personally believe success depends on the artist and not the companies he or she has worked for but sometimes I think about that internship and wonder where it could have taken me.

A tutorial is just a step-by-step set of instructions on how to recreate someone else's artwork for the purpose of showing a student how it was done using various tools. It's certainly not something that should ever be in anyone's portfolio (except for the person who created the tutorial, I guess).