Legal Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Legal Question

I have been doing mostly work in-house for the past 20 years as a graphic designer. Recently, at the request of several people that have seen my work, I decided to branch out and do artwork for local publications and businesses.

I hooked up with a publisher of a local magazine and started doing print ads for him. I did 10 ads in total, he said to go ahead and send the invoice and he would pay me. Payment time came around, and he said he was a little short, and if I could wait til the next publication, he would pay me. That came and past, and still no payment. I have not done any ads for him since, of course, but he still continues to use my ads in his publication and has yet to pay me to date.

I emailed him a Cease and Desist stating that since he did not pay me, I still own the rights to the work. He responded by saying that since it printed already that he owns the rights.

My question is, can I sue him for copyright infringement, just the money he owes me, or should I just write this off as lesson learned?

I'm not an attorney, but based solely on what you've written, he most definitely does not own the rights just because he's used your work and not paid you. I mean, that's one of the stupidest arguments I've heard. It's a bit like going to a restaurant, eating the meal, then claiming you don't need to pay since the foods already in your stomach.

Did you sign a contract with this person. If not, it's going to be more difficult to collect the money if he refuses to pay you, but still not impossible if you have a string of emails outlining the whole problem.