Diploma or Bachlors Degree?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Diploma or Bachlors Degree?

I have an associates degree under my belt. I have been working as a graphic designer in a couple different sign shops for about 5 years now. I currently am at FASTSIGNS but I want to go back to school to be able to get into a company to make more money. Is a diploma worth getting after having a lot of experience or is a bachelors degree more where I should aim for. I'll eventually be maxed out on my pay rate soon.

Thank you!

Completing a diploma program won't advance your credentials past those you already have in the eyes of Human Resources, the way it's currently run (in the U.S.). The Bachelor's degree is the milestone. Of course, no amount of education will guarantee you a better paying job.
    I'd rather be killed than come to your party, but if you don't invite me, I'll kill myself.

Comment

Hi Rkbigelow and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
      Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

Of course, no amount of education will guarantee you a better paying job.
        ^ This is a universal truism... no matter what they tell you at college.
        If you already have the Associates and 5 years of Real World experience, you are probably going to be horrified at the level of coursework you will be asked to do in a Bachelor Degree program. Grin and bear it and make the most of it. Make it fun. And make it fun for your inexperienced fellow students.

Be sure you talk to admissions when going for a Bachelors and see just how much credit, both previous college and Life Skills you can transfer. Your job experience is, or should be, worth college credit.