Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice On Letting A Company Use My Artwork

Hey guys,

Name's Casey and I'm new to the forum. I need a little advice on something..

So I did a personal a while back and a design company has contacted me expressing interest in using it for an album merchandising bundle for a band here in Texas. The proposal was that they want to use the art for a patch and maybe on a tshirt, but instead of monetary compensation, they want to use it and give me a merch bundle.
    I am a professional designer, so trading for some merch doesn't seem like the best way to go. Even though it was a personal piece, it did take some time to complete. I wouldn't mind selling the rights for this project or maybe to the band itself.
    I'd like some advise on this. What would you do, what would you suggest to them, how would you negotiate this?

Thanks!

You might want to look into licensing rather than selling the rights.

You make up a contract where the band can use your artwork for a specified number of impressions and/or for a specified length of time. Surely, as a professional desgner, you've licensed stock art before. It works the same way with illustrators and their art. Look online at GettyImages or similar for Rights Managed licensing and play with the click selector for calculating royalties (you have to make an account.) The cost of imagery can vary by how many impressions, the circulation area, the time frame of use, the type of use (ie featured or secondary,) etc.

Unless the merchandise has value to you, it's all about making a living. Don't look at it as an opportunity for exposure. Don't frame it on the premise that you'll take money if the band makes a profit on the merchandise. That's their risk.

Be prepared to say "no."

Comment

Hi Cabooth and welcome to GDF.