In-House Designer - Question About Coworker

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In-House Designer - Question About Coworker

I am an in-house graphic designer at a small business. I have a coworker that thinks he/she knows how to be a graphic designer (without having any training or art background). I have surprisingly run into this problem twice (once at this job and once at a previous job) and it is beyond frustrating and really awkward. I am the only graphic artist at this small business, so I don't have the support of a design team around me.

Let's call the coworker Susan. Susan knows the very basics of Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign. Susan consistently oversteps boundaries and creates designs for the business we work at. We rarely use Susan's designs. I get the feeling that Susan thinks she is good at graphic design. I feel so uncomfortable because I don't know how to respond to Susan when she excitedly shows me what she has created. She is always saying that she coming from a place of "helpfulness." "How can I help you?" she asks. To which I reply, "I don't need help, thank you." But this doesn't end the conversation. It always picks up again. We work closely at this business so ignoring her attempts is not possible.

I honestly don't know what to do. I don't want to be mean. I don't want to leave my job (that's how I solved my problem the last time – I found another job). I don't want to tell Susan I like her designs when I don't. And I don't want to feel how I feel: upset because I think that Susan thinks her flippantly thrown together creations are comparable to my designs that I work so hard on.

Hi Gathy and welcome to GDF.

"Susan, please don't do my job." It'll sting, and she may get pissy, but so what. Or go to your boss and mention that Susan has enough free time to try and do your job, too, so maybe she needs more to do.