Chinese last name and racism.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chinese last name and racism.

I'm just starting out freelance, to work on illustration.

I want to use my new last name Lau, as I think it sounds much nicer, and separates me from design work I've done in the past. My other name is English sounding.

I'm a bit worried a Chinese last name will put people off (even subconsciously without realising it). I'd hope they'd look more at the work that I do - especially with illustration.

Any thoughts on this and has anyone experienced anything like this?

Hi Sgreenhill and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

With illustrators, it's all about their particular style. The only thing I refuse to deal with is any artist who works under an alias. This goes mostly for photographers and stock artists on stock sites.
      Otherwise, it really doesn't matter.
      If it does matter to someone, do you really want to work with anyone put off by your name?

Comment

If you were, say, a Chinese national working from China and trying to get work from overseas, there could be a problem -- not because of your name but rather due to possible language, location, culture and other various inconveniences. If that isn't the case, the only significant problem I might anticipate is people assuming the just-mentioned situation could be the case, when in reality, it isn't.