Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Professional Sports Logos - Trademark or Copyright Infringement??? Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
Search Search Module
Collapse

Advertisement Advertisement Module
Collapse

Featured Images Featured Images Module
Collapse

Mediabistro Creative Sites Mediabistro Creative Sites Module
Collapse
Latest Topics Latest Topics Module
Collapse

Advertisement Advertisement Module
Collapse

Sponsors Sponsors Module
Collapse

X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional Sports Logos - Trademark or Copyright Infringement???

Although I'm not a graphics designer I do a few small things here and there for a client when needed. The company sells professional sports team related products and this naturally calls for the use of league logos (football, basketball, collegiate, racing, and hockey). Although they sell officially licensed products I don't believe they have received any special permissions to use these logos.

I created a little flash movie and incorporated these logos for the homepage. I also tilted them at an angle in ps before adding to my slides.

Could someone elaborate on the "issues" with using these logos in my graphics work? (I know there are some) What is required when using these trademarked logos. Do you receive licensing? And how can this effect not only me as the "designer" but the company? They also use these logos throughout their website.

Sorry for the lengthy post - Thanks in advance for any input.

Are they a licensed reseller?
    We do a lot of work for wireless phone stores and they always seem to have the Standards book and access to their main corporate sponsor logos (Verizon, ATT, etc.) either online or on disk.

I don't know how it works with sports teams though. I'm not a lawyer but one would think in order to sell the merchandise they should be able to show the merchandise, logo and all.