So I kind of...hate graphic design

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I kind of...hate graphic design

Here's the thing. I've liked to draw and illustrate for as long as I can remember. I got a Bachelor's in graphic design, thinking it would be practical for finding work.

Wrong I was. Not only is it impossible for me to even find work, the time I'm spending building my portfolio is frustrating me every day.

I tend to be more artistic and less advertising oriented. That alone is a problem. Factor in my outright hatred of finding the right photographs and having to perfectly make cutouts of them makes me really despise graphic design. Not that I'm even that good at it. The "nitpicky" nature of it is what bothers me.

To be honest, I wish there was something else I can do for a career, but I don't even know what I like so I'm not sure what I can apply for or what I can go to school for. Finding work as an illustrator is damn near impossible and to be honest I'm not sure I want to draw all that much either.

Any advice or help on the subject would be greatly appreciated.

What do you want to do?

You need to figure out if you just need to take a break or if that's the end for you and design forever. Sometimes when we're burned out, we might think we hate something but it's just a case of getting a new perspective. Take a month break from design if you can. See if things change.
    It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn't use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like "What about lunch?" Winnie the Pooh

Comment

Find what you love

Hi,

Buda is right.

First thing you need to do is stop. Grab a chair a pen and paper, sit down and write.

I can't stress enough how important it is to find what you really love.
      Find what you love until you feel you could do it for free. Write what you'd love to do, how would be the perfect job position for you. Visualize it.