X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st post... GD computer help

Im new to the forum. I am a student at the Art Institute of Atlanta, and I have to purchase a computer soon for my studies. I am a graphic design major.

Ive been told by several people that Macs are better for graphic design purposes, but I have heard from many that PCs are better as well. Can anyone tell me the ups and downs of having each computer for graphic design purposes?

What would yall recommend? The software I will be using includes Quark 6.0, Adobe Photoshop, and Adobe InDesign.

Thanks.

I am hoping you left out adobe illstrator from your list because you need to have illustrator too...its good to know quark but its on its way out and Indesign is becoming industry standard

I bought a Mac G4 eMac (due to limited funds...I am still a student atleast til June 23rd) I have 512 RAM and 700 Mhz and I also have an ipod to bring projects to class.....I think my computer (10 months ago) was 1500 bucks...it has worked just fine for me...I which I had a 22inch monitor etc but this computer gets the job done..

you want atleast 512 RAM on your computer and the bigger the monitor the better....

there was someone that just posted from your school looking for free work....

I think the majority of people use Macs for GD....however if you plan on doing web development (backend stuff) you would need a PC...

JUST LAUNCHED - www.hirethisdesigner.com - check it out

Comment

Get what you can afford.

The dual processor macs scream, even the G4's you can still get at a reasonable price (about $1795 MacMall). And you need at the very least 512mb of ram. Ram is cheap. Adding sticks is easy.

People on here use Mac or PC and seem to get the job done. Macs are more forgiving when working with PC files. Adobe is more forgiving to Macs as far as softkeys and registering product goes (PC requires you register to use CS and has a limited number of reloads.)