Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Striking out with my young career already. Need words of wisdom/advice, please...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Striking out with my young career already. Need words of wisdom/advice, please...

Hi everyone,

I am currently an unemployed Graphic Designer and am making zero progress in my job hunt for the last 3 months. Here is a run-down of my experience, situation, and the job market I'm in:

I live in the Phoenix Metro area and have been successfully operating as a freelance graphic designer for 3 years and have 1 and 1/2 years of in-house design experience (marketing collateral designs, email marketing, CMS, product photography, some copywriting... and a lot more). I graduated last Spring 2015 with an Associate of Applied Science in Visual Communication. Although I've had the fortune of working as an in-house designer while still going to school, I also had the misfortune of not being in those jobs longer than 1 year... my first design job to was a paid internship from 2014 until just last spring and my latest job lasting only about 6 months (summer 2015 until March 2016) that led to me getting laid off due to downsizing.

I have been applying to roughly 10 jobs/week for the last 2 months, and not only am I not getting a single interview, I'm not even getting a reply email or phone call back when I follow up. At this point, I'm feeling massively discouraged and am starting to think I need to go back to school and change my career path. I'm reminding myself that I still have a young career, but I am concerned about the stability of my job history being a deterrent for future opportunities. Recently, I've even applied to a couple of design internships and I haven't heard back from them.