Fastest 2D animation workflow

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fastest 2D animation workflow

I would like to create some 2D animations as an amateur side project, which will include vector and raster art, audio (voice, music and sounds), and lip syncing.

I'm not a professional graphics artist, I do know how to use some graphics software to some extent, like Photoshop, Illustrator, Inkscape, Gimp and others.

I would like to produce the animations in the shortest time possible because I have other things to do, so I would like to know what workflow would be the fastest and what software should I use.
    I would prefer to use free and open source software if possible.

I already looked into Synfig and OpenToonz and some other tools, but there is no easy to setup lip syncing on them, maybe I could use another software for this.

I think it would be faster to use a bone/skeletal animation method to rig and animate the characters. Drawing frame by frame would take too long.

I also think that I could grab images on the internet and use them instead of drawing everything, I know that some images may have a copyright that won't allow me to use them.

Hi muzo and welcome to GDF.

We ask every new member to read the threads posted HERE, particularly this thread to get acquainted with how things work on GDF. They will explain how the forum runs, the rules, frequently discussed topics and our inside jokes. Your first few posts must be approved by a moderator, so don't panic if they don't show up right away. I hope you enjoy your stay.

I don't have any experience in animation, but if you don't have any drawing skills, you might be able to purchase stock images to use. If you buy vector images, that may help the animation process if the objects have ben individually created. You cannot just take images off the internet to use in your animations.