Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stock image resources suggestions

Hi guys.
    I have never used many stock images for my work, but I want to give some more depth to my portfolio for logo application and a few other things. Also, stock images for potential use with print design.

What are you guys favorite/go to resources for stock images?

Is something like adobe stock with a monthly subscription the way to go, or should stock images just be purchased one at a time?

I appreciate any input! I am completely new to this.

Thanks

You shouldn't be using raster stock images in logo design. And 99% of stock imagery AND clip art is not allowed to be used in logos. Read your EULA carefully.
    Maybe in presentation situations you'd use a raster image, where you put the vector logo on a raster image, but normally that is done by photographing where you are going to place the logo, ie on a specific wall or desk or tradeshow booth to give the client an idea of the look in situ.

I have literally over 100 image sources. Not all of them would be considered stock, though all require some kind of license. Some are general like Getty and iStock and 123RF and Shutterstock. Others are more specific like NatGeo, DigitalGlobe, ScienceSource and ArtRes.

Whether or not you buy a single image or a whole subscription depends on your working model. There is another option where you can purchase credits, where the more credits you buy at any one time the less you pay per credit. Places like iStock (as an example, one of many) offer both credit and subscription systems. For instance one image here or there is not worth the price of a subscription. A whole project being done using iStock Royalty Free imagery might make buying credits more worthwhile.