Continuing Education for Working Graphic Designers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continuing Education for Working Graphic Designers

This is both a personal question and one of general curiosity.

So, I am a full time graphic designer with a degree in design. I've learned a lot on the job and through various tutorials over the years but I've also recently been intrigued by the idea of going back to school. I want to pick up more skills or to better myself in way that I can't on my own. I feel like self learning is great but you don't know what you don't know. I don't necessarily know where my flaws are or where to challenge myself more.

I could do another degree, a masters, certificates, or even just workshops. There are so many options out there my mind is kind of overwhelmed and I know it's completely personal it's based on my own goals. Has anyone here gone through a similar phase in their career? Maybe you think things are getting stale and you just need a change of environment or you're fearful of becoming stagnant?

Anyways I'd love to hear about your experiences of continuing to educate yourselves as designers whether it be self taught or in an institution. What are some good programs or self driven initiatives you've competed? Valuable certificates... etc?

I fulfill that educational need by attending seminars at either the ISA or SGIA show, as that is my industry.
    For general Graphic Design you simply cannot beat walking either of their Expo floors, and you can do that without joining (minimal cost something like $30 plus parking.)

What you see there might overload your circuits at first but you will definitely come away with some incredibly useful design ideas.

Other large scale organizations have fairly active seminar agenda, like the SEGD if you're into that.

Another option is Adobe. They do offer stuff you can attend around the country.