Fonts for logo design

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fonts for logo design

Hello everyone, I started learning logo design couple of months ago and was wondering what kind of fonts are essential for a graphic designer?

''What kind of fonts are essential for a graphic designer?''
    Fonts that work.
    I've been printing stuff for nearly 20 years now, and still, about 20% of freeware fonts do really dumb things in a print rip. There are some really poorly created fonts out there. Not poorly created in aesthetics, but poor in creation of their software code. There is nothing worse than spending a whole lot of time on a well-purposed design only to have half the characters or all of the glyphs fall out at the print stage, a recipe for lots of tears and chin quivers.

Source your fonts properly, test when necessary, and any font that works for the design at hand is the most essential font a graphic designer can have.

As for just starting to learn logo design, I'm assuming in a class? Because logo design encompasses more than just pretty pictures. There's all kinds of studied theory that goes into a logo design. Color theory, typography theory, marketing theory, analytics theory, feasibility theory, mechanical theory, etc.

I am a very firm believer that no one should be able to create logos that hasn't worked in a sign shop for at least 3 years.
    Last edited by PrintDriver; 02-12-2017, 08:07 AM.

Comment

• Pandorino
      Pandorino commented
      Editing a comment
      PrintDriver - What do you think about the Google Fonts library?

(Btw, the auto corrector of Android suggested the name 'Google Don't library', hope that's not your opinion ahah)

Hi Saulius and welcome to GDF.