Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I am feeling frustrated in my job search?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am feeling frustrated in my job search?

I graduated a few years ago with a degree in graphic design. Since then I have been working on and off for this company as a contractor, doing print production work for them. My contract ended and I am now looking for something which is permanent or at least more stable (my last position was seasonal so we wouldn't always be guaranteed hours.) However all together I only have a year experience. But it's hard to find a job with little experience, and it seems that is what most companies want.

I would even work for free to get experience. I have even done volunteer graphic design work for different companies to be able to build my portfolio, and I am taking on another project now. I have also expanded my job search to include some administrative jobs, and some which are related to design in some way. But I really need some advice and tips on how to find a graphic design job. Thank you

Hi GM86 and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

It always rankles a bit when a designer says they are doing work for free. It also bothers me that there are companies out there willing to pay someone absolutely nothing for something they know to be of some value. Sad state of the economy.

I'll post this but it won't make you happy:
      https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes271024.htm

Now compare that data with this:

http://www.aiga.org/too-many-grads-o...school-dilemma
      Notable quote: