Where Should I Start?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where Should I Start?

So basically I am trying to get into graphics/logo design. I have pretty good knowledge of photoshop, and I am still learning about how to use illustrator. I am not a very good artist or drawer, so I got my friend to help draw the mascots. Should I keep having him drawing, and me editing? Or would it be better going solo, and learning how to draw? Thanks, all comments are appreciated!

Knowing how to draw is an advantage, but not really necessary. I've been in graphic design for nearly 18 years and I cannot draw a straight line.

This is why there are tools like Illustrator and Photoshop (and InDesign).

It helps though if you see things as shapes, rather than as one whole design. When you see it as a shape you can then see curves and lines and mimic those using the tools available to you.

Type can be converted to shapes and manipulated.

I'm no logo designer, but I'd start by taking a look at the logos of popular companies and trying your hand at redesigning them. The idea is to capture the spirit of the company (or the idea) behind the logo. If you can do that, your logo designs will be effective.

Keep it simple. The most popular and well known logos are simple. Adding complexity just for complexity's sake or because it 'looks cool' is not a good reason. If it works for what you are trying to get across then great. Otherwise it's just something tacked on that distracts from the effectiveness of the design.

Remember, you aren't trying to design a logo for the sake of design. You're trying to design a logo that says something about the company.
    Erik Youngren Pueblo Publishers, Composing Manager
    2.8Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro | InDesign CS4 | Suitcase Fusion 5

Comment