Non Compete Agreement

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non Compete Agreement

Just wondering if anyone could help me out? I have been working for a talent agency for a few years now and I have one client in particular that I have been working with for over a year. They love my work and I love working with them. I want to approach them about working with me directly so I can increase my rate and they wouldn't have to pay the agency fee, but I can't find my agencies noncompete agreement anywhere? Any advice would be welcome.

Thanks,
    Ed

If you lost your copy of the contract, just ask for a new one.
    Call/email your agency and tell them to send it to you.
    People get hired away from ''talent agencies'' all the time. Sometimes the company hiring you just has to buy out your agreement.

Comment

Hi Bronx9911 and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
      Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

If you're still working for the agency, and they discover you've worked around them to work with a client, I imagine that would be the last time you work for that agency. Or any other agency for that matter. If gaining this client would be more profitable than the combined income the agency provides it could be worth it. Assuming there are no legal ramifications for stealing the client.

Comment

I have a number of friends that have worked for agencies that had their contracts bought out by the people they were placed with.
          It's a common business practice with talent firms. If all carried out above board, there shouldn't be an issue with it.