Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What does a good graphic design portfolio include?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does a good graphic design portfolio include?

i am a graphic designer and digital coloring artist too. Gonna make a portfolio but still confused what to include or not. Need some suggestions about this.
    Would also love to get assist by good graphic designers and do some work for them just to learn new trends and techniques not for making money.

Only showcase your best works, even if it means having fewer to display. Go for quality over quantity.

Comment

not for making money
      Why would you want to work for free?

A portfolio should include your best work.

What's a digital coloring artist?

A 'good graphic designer' isn't about teaching new trends, and certainly not about teaching new techniques. They are busy servicing their real world clients.That learning stuff is something you do on your own time through observation and practice.

Comment

Originally posted by brucebrown View Post
        Would also love to get assist by good graphic designers and do some work for them just to learn new trends...
        I've said this before, but designers should be trendsetters, not trend followers. This desire to be trendy among some beginning designers is misguided. It not only stifles that person's own creativity, it also guarantees the work will be outdated as soon as the trend fades and is replaced by the next one.

It's fine to be aware of trendy things and it's important to consider stylistic shifts that occur over decades. But it's detrimental to get caught up in the mentality of focusing on the latest trends and fashions just because other trend followers are doing so.