Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've Plateaued. Now I am seeking career tips

Greetings all,

So I have been doing graphic design for a start up for about 5 months now, particularly working with Photoshop/After Effects/Illustrator.

I have reached a plateau and I can't seem to find the way out. I can move between the three programs relatively seamlessly, and I can provide my company with good basic designs (mostly stuff that I easily repeat off of tutorials on youtube). But it seems there is a big gap between where I am at and where creatives who get paid to do this stuff professionally are at on a skill level.

To be honest, graphic design is not a passion, it is more of a career choice I have made because I enjoy art and I am tech savy.

What's the next logical step for a good career? I have been looking at investing time in UX Design, as it seems to be a better career choice than spending months learning how to draw.

Honestly, I'm not a commie, I don't see my work as an end-in-itself, but rather a means to an end, so please take that into consideration when offering advice.

P.S (I already understand design theory thoroughly. I am well versed in the underlying principles and history of graphic design).

Do you have any formal schooling?
    No InDesign?
    Learning to do stuff through copying tutorials and doing basic layout isn't learning. To advance you need to learn from someone better at it than you are. Reinventing the wheel is not productive; not to your boss and not to your career.
    Graphic Design is not about enjoying Art. Too many people go into graphic design thinking it is going to be a great way to let loose their artistic talent, when that couldn't be further from the truth.

Almost any career choice is better than Graphic Designer, especially if you are using it ias a job as a means to an end and aren't into ''chasing it.''