Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Legal Question (rights to use work I created)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Legal Question (rights to use work I created)

Hi Guys.
    I have a client I have been working with for about 8 months now. I have worked on many projects, all of which were approved, used, and I was paid for.
    My work was on a shared dropbox account so the client could access them.

Recently the client claims that they can no longer use the files I created, and they removed me from the dropbox folder without notifying me and claim that I cannot use any of the work I created over the past 8 months in my portfolio (it's a large body of work)

I got written permission (in an email) about a month ago that I could use this work on my portfolio. The client now says they are "taking back" that permission.

Question: Am I legally allowed to use the work I created in my portfolio? Obviously only taking credit for what I made. Does the client legally have to give me the files I created? They were essentially taken from me without any notification or permission.

Thank you!

You didn't initiate the dropbox?
    You don't have copies????????
    Never trust The Cloud. Never.
    Did the client fire you?
    Sounds like you didn't have a contract. While an email is somewhat helpful, it isn't quite a binding legal document.

Sounds like a live-and-learn experience. A hard one, at that.

Comment

Originally posted by PrintDriver View Post
      You didn't initiate the dropbox?
      You don't have copies????????
      Never trust The Cloud. Never.
      Did the client fire you?
      Sounds like you didn't have a contract. While an email is somewhat helpful, it isn't quite a binding legal document.

Sounds like a live-and-learn experience. A hard one, at that.

He's been a client for years. I trusted him. That was my mistake.