Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do you deal with rejection during the graphic design job search?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you deal with rejection during the graphic design job search?

Hey all,

I'm new here, but it's nice to have found a place full of people who are just as passionate about graphic design as me.

A little background info...I graduated a year early, May of 2016. I started working at an ad agency the December prior to this as a part time Designer, then began full time when I graduated. About a year and 9 months now I have been working there.

It's been my dream to move to Colorado, and that was my original post-graduation plan, but I decided to stick around my college town to get more experience before I try to go into a bigger market.

My question for you all, how do you deal with rejection after rejection during the job search? I have gotten a few bites here and there, but found after learning more about the company or interviewing with them that it just isn't a good fit. I would really love to work for an agency, but I guess I am just struggling with setting realistic expectations for myself.

I know confidence is key...but it's hard not to get down from time to time and feel like I'm not good enough and my portfolio is garbage. I've been trying to turn these negative emotions into something productive, but it can be challenging.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm considering posting my portfolio to get some feedback as well.

I think it's important to remember there are all kinds of reasons why someone gets or doesn't get a job that have almost nothing to do with ability or talent.