Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laptop advice

New here and first post.

I am looking for some feed back and any recommendations as to what to get for my new laptop. I am a graphic designer for a sall independent company and also do freelance work. I do a lot of illustrations, photo editing, flyers, logos, and such. My main programs are photoshop, illustrator and Indesign. For the past 7 years I have used a MacBook Pro 17 with a Wacom tablet. But I am sad to say my Mac is no mare than a paperweight now. So I need to replace it A.S.A.P. I have been looking at just going and getting a new MacBook Pro 15 as I am so familiar with Mac already. But on the other hand I have also been looking at the Microsoft Surface Book as I like the versatility of them. If anyone has any coments or recommendations it would be helpful.

Hi Wayniac1313 and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

The first question I ask these days when a designer wants to change platforms...
      How big is your Mac OS font collection?
      A good part of that may not be transferable to a PC. Also, legacy files would have to be watched for word wrap changes.

Plugins you may have purchased won't work either.

With the current bloatware trend of Adobe, I'd look for something with a large hard drive (more than 500gigs) and 32gigs of ram.
      I don't know how old your dead laptop is, but most laptops these days do not have upgradeable ram in them. Opt for at least 16. More if you can afford it. It's soldered in before shipping and not customer friendly to work on at all.