Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on how to finish an iPad drawing to create a vector to sell online

Hi everyone... I am new to this forum and graphic design,

I am an illustrator, using good old pen & ink on paper but I would like to start selling my illustrations online (iStock etc...). I could do with some advice!

I want to use an iPad Pro and apple pencil so I can draw as I usually do but straight into a digital format. I would like to know what steps i have to go through, after finishing a drawing on the iPad, to turn it into a vector that is acceptable for sale. (I have never used any graphic design software before)

Thank you

The only way I know to do that is to save the file in a format that can be imported into Adobe Illustrator on a desktop or laptop computer. The conversion would then require using illustrator's image tracing feature. Unfortunately, the tracing may not turn out like you expect.

It's possible to get a near-photographic trace in Illustrator, but it makes the file so gigantic and so complex that it's practically impossible to make alterations to it. The underlying code in a raster image is fundamentally different than a vector image, so there is no one-to-one transfer or conversion.

That being the case, and for a number of other reasons, it doesn't make a whole lot of practical sense to do a tracing like that. A less-than-photographic tracing will reduce both the complexity and size of the vector file, but it will also eliminate lots of detail and make solid shapes out of similar, adjacent areas, sort of like a paint-by-number painting. Sometimes this technique is used in a pinch to convert raster to vector, but the results are never especially accurate. It's also possible to use the raster-to-vector trace to accomplish an artsy sort of look, that is if you're actually wanting a paint-by-numbers kind of look.

Comment