Interview Tomorrow with an Assessment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interview Tomorrow with an Assessment

I just got a call for an interview tomorrow at a temp agency that staffs graphic design jobs. I was told that there would be assessments in Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator. I was also told that the assessments would be technical not conceptual (for example following step by step instructions). I'm "self-taught" and have never done an assessment before, this will be good experience. Has anyone done anything similar that can give me an idea as to what I might expect on the assessment? I want to make sure I brush up on anything that I need to before tomorrow.

Might review your technical terms. As you are self-taught you may refer to certain things in your head one way while the industry uses a different term.

Technical also implies to me that they are looking for what you know versus what you can do. For instance (and I will just use simple examples), can he (meaning you) take a JPG and make a 300dpi CMYK PSD out of it? Can you export a PDF from InDesign?, stuff like that.

PS. I have an appreciation for temp agencies. One of the jobs I worked once hired a temp when the manager left and I learned how to get a postscript file out of QuarkXPress from that guy. Knew his stuff.

Good luck!
    Erik Youngren Pueblo Publishers, Composing Manager
    2.8Ghz Quad Core Intel Xeon Mac Pro | InDesign CS4 | Suitcase Fusion 5

Comment

Temp agencies usually only hire people who are good enough to plug-in-and-play. The last thing a company wants when they hire a temp is to be teaching them the basics.

Following step by step instructions should be fairly easy, unless they toss in a wrench or two on purpose to see what you'll do.