Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What specifications of PC laptop should I buy for design jobs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What specifications of PC laptop should I buy for design jobs?

Hi all,

I am a novice in design. I need to use Photoshop, Illustrator or maybe some movie/sound editing software as well.

I need a new laptop. Probably 13 or 15inch. Can anyone advise if I need an i7 or i5 is enough?

Do I need a separate graphics card? I understand that 13 inch might not come with separate graphics card but it is easier to carry around.

My budget is a little tight though.

Thanks.

Hi Pencil and welcome to GDF.

We ask all new members to read very important links here and here. These explain the rules, how the forum runs and a few inside jokes. No, you haven't done anything wrong, we ask every new member to read them. Your first few posts will be moderated, so don't panic if they don't show up immediately. Enjoy your stay.
    Shop smart. Shop S-Mart.

Comment

if you are going to be doing movies and sound, opt for the better processor and all the Ram you can afford. Laptops these days aren't making ram replacement easy. Sometimes it's even soldered in at the factory and can't be swapped out. I'd recommend at least 32 gigs of ram.

You also might want to consider the largest ssd drive you can afford as well. 250gigs isn't going to cut it. I have trouble with a 500gig SSD and I don't have all my work files on my machine. Those are kept on a server. If you add games and music to the clutter on your machine, you are gonna be wishing for a larger hard drive real quick.

Comment

Originally posted by pencil_ View Post
        My budget is a little tight though.
        What PrintDriver said, is accurate for pro-level work. However, since you're on a budget, you can get by with less.