Briefs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Briefs

What's the general consensus on how to interpret briefs written by a marketing manager or director etc? I was in a meeting at work where I interpreted the brief incorrectly and got a critised for it. They're briefs for posters. I told them before to lay out the briefs n a simple manner with the key message and the copy in order of importance so i know how to treat it. What I get is the mechanics of the promotion with data in it that doesn't necessarily go into the poster. I was told it was up to me to interpret that information and take out or add what I thought was necessary. Is that not what the marketing manager is supposed to do? I'm new to this line of business we're in and I'm not sure what to take out add. I was hired as a designer not a marketing executive. What are people's thoughts on getting briefs like this as a designer?

I don't think there is a one-size-fits-all answer to your question. It depends on the company, its culture, the marketing person, the designer and the project at hand.

I oversee both the marketing and creative departments where I work, so my opinions are based on seeing this kind of problem from both sides.

If your marketing people didn't write a brief that made sense to you, that's as much their fault as yours -- possibly even more their fault given that you explained to them what you'd need ahead of time and they failed to deliver.

This is a gross generalization with plenty of exceptions, but I've found that many (if not most) marketing executives are a bit clueless and insecure, which translates into a defensive posture that comes across as arrogance. Their ideas are frequently impractical and uncreative, but their insecurity doesn't allow them to show weakness, so they come across as demanding and condescending jerks to peers and butt-kissers to those above them -- especially when challenged or when fault points in their direction.