Surface Pad Recommendations

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surface Pad Recommendations

Hello, I'm 29 years old, and this is the first forum i've entered into(cool story!)
    in short i am a self taught analog artist, and desperate to join the professional ranks.
    to do so i need to enter into the digital age. to be relevant and taken seriously, and eventually after proving myself, make $15/hr. (a living)

when i was 22, i enrolled in San Francisco Academy of the Arts. i was young, naive and extremely gullible. i dropped out after the first semester, after coming to terms with the fact i was in over my head. taking a 3 hour bus (there and back) three times a week. the condensed summer semester ran me $5000. which i never paid back, and after about 5 years the federal government waved/forgave it.
    4 yrs would have easily been $100,000 or more.

now i know i will never enroll into a private art college.

but i'm also hesitant in even getting a graphic design certificate, from a junior college.
    because art supply is ****ing expensive and teachers are always making buy more shit week after week,

but if i did, i would take out a student loan/grant, just to pay for art supply's requested by teacher plus tuition.

yes i want to fast track.

sick of b.s.

i don't want a formal piece of paper that says i'm good artist.
    can i just show up to a graphic design firm without formal art degree/certificate, but with digital compitance/ and a great portfolio, get in the door?

i have an impressive analog portfolio, and if i had 60 hrs or more on Adobe illustrator & photoshop, i would feel confident in my transition. and reliable as an employee(graphic design firm)

and/Or Take business classes, to pursue Free Lance.

the key is my TRANSITION though....

i could use a mouse, and most likey will have to to some extent.

but, want to minimalize mouse use as much as possible.

i've done some research on Surface Pads.....