Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How would you feel when other designers make changes to your work?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How would you feel when other designers make changes to your work?

Hi there, I am an intermediate level designer, and I am looking for advice on what to do when your superior (who is also a designer) is always editing your work before sending off to the client. I am not talking about giving me feedback, because I will gladly take criticism to improve my work. When I show my work to my superior they seem generally happy and may give me a few suggestions which I incorporate into the work. The next day I see that they have changed the work drastically without telling me when it seemed like they were pretty happy and I know it hasn't been presented to the client yet.

Is this normal, and would it upset you? I am not sure how I should approach this situation.

This would have bothered me in my fresh out of college days. Nowadays I wouldn't care as long as they pay me the same. If it's ruined, I just won't put it in my portfolio.

Comment

It may be something client have requested or demanded, Happens a lot when you work with multiple clients for short-term projects, And sometimes their demands are way dumber but you can't even argue to some of these kinds of people.

Comment

When you say the work is changed drastically, is it for the better or worse in terms of serving the end client's needs?

How do you know client feedback hasn't been involved, whether or not the artwork has been shown to the client or not? I can't tell you how many times I get a ''stop work'' order (phone call, email, text) after a file has gone to a print vendor, simply because someone in the client's chain of command hasn't signed off on something.