A question about advancing education

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question about advancing education

I have an AAS degree in Graphic Design from 2004. I have worked steadily in the graphic design field ever since (employee, contract & freelance). I am now looking to further my education and would like to know how professional certificates from places like EDX.org are looked upon by potential employers in comparison to traditional education paths (Bachelor's Degree).
    Thank You.

From my point of view, those kinds of certificates carry almost no weight whatsoever. When listed on a resume, they might even be seen as a bit detrimental in that they tend to point out the absence of a 4-year degree. Employers (especially their HR departments) tend to look for actual degrees from accredited colleges and universities, not miscellaneous and questionable online courses one might have taken.

Just my opinion, but online courses are best taken for personal improvement and skill development. They might be something to mention in an interview in the context of how you keep current and always strive to keep growing. I don't, however, think they're a substitute for a bachelor's degree in the education section of your resume.

Comment

To be honest, a lot of employers anymore only care about a portfolio and work experience (which sounds like you have both). When it comes to education, a bachelor's is favored over online certificates. As B said, employers look for the accredited locations and not questionable online certificates. I know some universities offer certificate programs which could be a decent alternative to a bachelors as well as less time and money.

There are plenty of online courses now for free or cheap on the internet that offer a variety of topics. Sometimes something as simple as learning a new program can open up many more work opportunities.

Comment